BCPS Honors Top Teacher, Principal, Assistant Principal and
School-Related/District Employee at Annual Caliber Awards Ceremony

Broward County Public Schools (BCPS) honored its best at the 2017 Caliber Awards Ceremony on Wednesday, April 5, 2017, at the Greater Fort Lauderdale/Broward County Convention Center in Fort Lauderdale. The annual Caliber Awards recognizes and honors the exemplary leadership, hard work and dedication of the District’s outstanding teachers, principals, assistant principals and school-related/District employees.

Congratulations to all of the 2017 Caliber Awards winners!

Teacher of the Year
Eleanna Hurst, Collins Elementary School

“I am sometimes the only person that may encourage students to become anything that they want to be; teaching offers the opportunity to be that spark to so many students,” says Eleanna Hurst. As a third generation educator, Hurst’s mission is to develop well-rounded, literate, problem-solvers and thinkers, who will become productive members in society. Under her leadership, third grade students earned the highest number of percentage points in Broward County on the 2016 Florida State Assessments. Hurst is “a phenomenal teacher and a tremendous asset,” says her principal Dr. Tracy Jackson.

Teacher of the Year Finalists
Deborah Alexander, Pembroke Pines Elementary School
Kristin Baltazar, Henry D. Perry Education Center
Pamela Griffin, Monarch High School
Michele Matias, Crystal Lake Middle School
Jeffrey Rose, Cypress Bay High School

Principal of the Year
Elaine Saef, Panther Run Elementary School

As principal of Panther Run Elementary School, Elaine Saef views her role as one of removing barriers. She is known for creating and implementing programs and activities that motivate and inspire teachers to educate students to achieve their highest potential. Saef is dedicated to developing an inclusive school environment and a positive school culture that effectively puts students first, emphasizes academics and builds teachers trust. As a dynamic and engaging leader, Saef constantly challenges her school community to excel.

Principal of the Year Finalists
Marc Charpentier, Sunset Lakes Elementary School
Dr. Lewis Jackson, Dania Elementary School
Christopher McGuire, Broward Virtual School
Keith Peters, Gator Run Elementary School
Ty Thompson, Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School

Assistant Principal of the Year
Patricia Brown, Coral Springs High School

A hard-working instructional leader, Patricia Brown focuses on the academic inclusion of a culturally diverse student population at Coral Springs High School. Brown creates and nurtures a positive learning environment to facilitate student achievement. Her mentoring initiatives positively impacted at-risk students and increased the graduation rate for Coral Springs High. “A star, revolutionary and trailblazer,” are words used by former Principal Susan Leon-Leigh to describe Brown. She works tirelessly to build relationships that provide answers to the latest challenges in education.

Assistant Principal of the Year Finalists
David Argent, Coral Springs Middle School
Janet Calamaro, Nova Blanche Forman Elementary School
Patricia Genhold, Bair Middle School
Marie Hautigan, Fort Lauderdale High School
Sophia Myers, North Fork Elementary School

School-Related/District Employee of the Year
Terri Cianelli, Seminole Middle School

Terri Cianelli is a team motivator who finds ways to maximize the talents and skills of her school’s clerical staff. Under her leadership, the clerical team provides an organized, customer-friendly environment to support teachers’ daily lesson plans and enhance students’ learning experiences. She is a dynamic professional who goes above and beyond expectations in every task performed. “Ms Cianelli takes great initiative and does not hesitate to wear any hat that is necessary to assist any parent, teacher or student,” said Principal Kathryn Marlow.


Por favor ingrese su comentario!
Por favor ingrese su nombre aquí